There IS an app for that

I mentioned in one of last posts that my motivation is slowing. Just admitting that I wasn’t reaching goals helped some. It guilted me into an extra day at the gym. Still, I turned to Google to find some mobile motivation. While I didn’t find what I really hoping to come across, I did run across some very interesting apps.

The most interesting app I ran across was Foodeducate. This story behind this app is that is supposed to let you scan food and will give you what you really need to know about the food (without trying to translate the nutrition label). The app grades the food based on its nutrition facts and ingredient list and let’s you know the calories per serving. It also let’s you know the percentage of others that liked the food. It also gives you a few key points you should know about the food before eating it. Lastly, it will suggest better alternatives that may have less calories, sugar or unnatural ingredients.

Fooducate-cheerios

Here’s their slightly annoying video that shows how the app works. I highly suggest you mute your computer before pressing play. (Trust me on this.)

Upon further research of the app (Thanks breakingmuscle.com and Brighthand), I found that it seems the app has a food logging option, but it is currently only offered to iPhone users. Also, the app sends you advertisements (ick!)

Based on the reviews, so far the app has been successful. It has had favored reviews from USA Today, iMore and TIME. I personally judge the success of an app based upon user reviews and downloads. Currently, the app has almost 7500 reviews on Google Play. Overall, Fooducate has reviewed as average rating of 4.3 (out of 5) stars. It has been downloaded over 1 million times. The basic app is free and the pro version is $10. Of the reviews I read, the most common complaint was that the $10 was too much for the pro version.

While I have downloaded the app, I haven’t used it yet. (I forgot when I was in the grocery store today). I’m afraid to use it on food I already have in the house. Some things I just don’t want to know!

Besides, Fooducate, I also came across Calm. This app does just what the name insinuates: brings calm to your life. If the app is anything like the Calm website, it should be very calming. Unfortunately, I can’t use the app. It’s only available for the iPhone (boo!). Hopefully, the makers will get their act together and realize that Android users need zen too. In the meantime, all users can experience 2-, 5-,10,15-, and 20-minute zen sessions online.

3 thoughts on “There IS an app for that

  1. First of all, how did I not know you were blogging? I love reading other people’s blogs. Second of all I used Fooducate a few years ago and it made me feel incredibly guilty. My kids only eat certain things which complicates everything for us. We have pushed them to try things in so many different ways that we are now in the “this is what is for dinner and if you don’t want to eat it then you are welcome to go to your room until bed time”. We tried having them sit with us through dinner but the crying and snot did me in one night and so now they go to their rooms. Back to the guilt though…it appeared to me that it gave very low grades to anything that wasn’t a labeled brand organic food item. If I bought a store branded organic item equivalent it was always a “C” where the brand named item would be a “B”. It’s been at least 2 years since I tried it last so maybe this has been fixed.

    I’m trying to remember the name of another app I thought was fantastic but I wasn’t in a place for it to be practical. You would tell it what your goals were and it would give you a simple reminder. I know I was trying to drink more water so it would give me a nudge in random times asking if I had drank water recently. Another example was it would ask if you had taken time to just breathe. Hopefully in a few years it will be practical. If I remember the name, I’ll send it to you.

  2. Interesting post. I have seen this app and think it is a great resource. I use a similar mobile app called “Lose It” where you can add in your goals (i.e., maintain weight, lose 1/2 lbs, lose 1 lbs per week, etc.). Depending on your goals, you will be given a daily allowance for calorie intake. You then track your meals and exercise so that you can maintain what you are actually doing (instead of what you THINK you are eating or burning at the gym). It’s been a great resource and it really keeps you honest. One of the features that I like the most is the barcode scanner, for foods that may not be in the app itself.

  3. Great post, it’s interesting to see your point of view of this app. I use myfitnesspal, it’s a free app where you enter your current weight and goals and it tells you when you should reach your goal by, how many calories you can have per day and track your activity. I’ll have to check out this app, it’d be useful while shopping to pick the right foods before their in the cupboard!

Leave a Reply

