Healthy Triangle

Even though I’ve been silent awhile, I haven’t totally abandoned my goals. I just started to re-evaluate them. It started in August when I took a class on emotional intelligence. It was a very interesting class, during which we discussed balance and whole body wellness. The concept of whole body wellness means that to be truly healthily, you cannot just focus on fitness. You have to look at your physical, mental, and spiritual health. Whole body wellness also looks at the concept that physical ailments could be caused by mental and spiritual issues.

The body piece of the triangle is what people usually focus on: exercise and nutrition. This you know I am working on. I still box once a week. I’m going back to running once a week. I am working on adding in abs once a week, too.

The healthy mind part focuses on knowledge and intellect. I think I have that part more than covered with school.

The last part of the triangle, spirit, is what I realized to be the weak side of my triangle. This part is about relaxing, emotions, stress management and enlightenment. My class in August made me realize that there is one giant change I need to make. Unfortunately, it is not an easy change or one that can happen quickly. In the meantime, I am working on small changes. Once of these changes includes getting more involved in my church. I am also working to do more of the things I like, like spending time with friends. I’m also looking into getting regular massages. I used to think getting massages was a luxurious and indulgent act. Then, through the help of health care professionals, I realized they could be a needed part in living a healthily life. Massages help relieve stress and tension. Stress slows the metabolism, which prevents weight loss. You see where this is going. Besides massages, I am also looking to start practicing meditation. I think this will also be useful for stress relief.

So there it is-Whole body health. I can’t be really healthy without focusing on all sides of the triangle. It makes sense. And like everything else I have learned, it’s all about balance.

Leave a Reply

