It’s the little things that matter

So, I can’t run a marathon (yet) or go a round with Laila Ali (not even going to happen!), but I can recognize how far I’ve come in the last few months.

My boxing trainer always starts my session out with jumping rope for 2 minutes (which I loathe – sorry, Wes!). When I first started boxing, I spent most of the time tangled up in the rope or jumping like a 3rd grader. This week, I noticed how much better I’ve gotten. I don’t quite have Muhammad Ali’s style, but I don’t get tangled up anymore and almost make it through the entire 2 minutes without wearing out (try it – it’s a long time to jump rope!). I smiled and celebrated my milestone. It shows how far I’ve come and proves there’s no limit on how far I can go.

“Take your victories, whatever they may be, cherish them, use them, but don’t settle for them.” — Mia Hamm

Leave a Reply

